Our Father is Younger Than We Are

slava09f

The Orthodox, it is typically said, do things in threes. We repeat over and over, or as the title of this blog suggests, again and again. Repetitiveness is something we see during these days of Pascha when Christ is Risen is heard not only once but over and over again.  There is, I think, some wisdom in this. In the Old Testament we read how God, whenever He wanted Abraham to do something, He said, “Abraham, Abraham.” Similarly, He repeated Samuel’s name as well as Jacob’s and so on. In the Book of Acts (9:4) we read how when our Lord encountered Saul He said to him, “Saul, Saul”,  while to the disciple Simon our Lord, predicting that he will deny Him three times, begins His warning, “Simon, Simon…” (Luke 22:31). This is not even to mention how our Lord, upon pronouncing a truth, vital to our salvation, says not only that it is true but, in order to put emphasis on it, He repeats it: “Verily, verily, I say to you…”

There is something childlike in this repetitiveness. It was, in fact, a post on Fr. Joseph Honeycutt’s blog which got me thinking of this.  More specifically, it was a quote he used from Chesterton, in which he states:

“A child kicks its legs rhythmically through excess, not absence, of life. Because children have abounding vitality, because they are in spirit fierce and free, therefore they want things repeated and unchanged. They always say, “Do it again”; and the grown-up person does it again until he is nearly dead. For grown-up people are not strong enough to exult in monotony. But perhaps God is strong enough… It is possible that God says every morning, “Do it again,” to the sun; and every evening, “Do it again,” to the moon. It may not be automatic necessity that makes all daisies alike: it may be that God makes every daisy separately, but has never got tired of making them. It may be that He has the eternal appetite of infancy; for we have sinned and grown old, and our Father is younger than we.”

The photo above is from yesterday’s Slava celebration service as the girls look on during the Litiya. After all, they live for this sort of thing: going around the church, blessing the Badnjak on Christmas Eve, making wreaths from the grass on Pentecost,etc.  It has always amazed me how, when we’re sitting at home, relaxing, these things seem to pop in their mind, they remember them and ask, “Remember when we….”.

It is as if they are asking me, or making me promise them that we will, indeed, do it again. There would perhaps be no greater tragedy for them than for me to tell them that, unfortunately, that was the last time we did such and such a thing.  No, children, as it seems, simply can’t get enough. It is precisely this faith which God calls us to have, the faith of a child which never grows old of hearing Christ is Risen, is not satisfied with going around the church only once.  For, it is unlike us Orthodox to accept the doctrine of simply confessing faith in Jesus and expecting instant salvation. It is not that we are skeptical. Instead, I think we’re a little too realistic. We are human after all and prone to make mistakes, to sin and confess our errors.  If we are realistic, it doesn’t make us hopeless. We fall but we get back up. We pray and then we pray “again and again” and once more and even again and so on.

For, in the end, we’re bound to get it right.

9 thoughts on “Our Father is Younger Than We Are

  1. Though I’m not Orthodox (but am orthodox), I appreciate your post and your fascinating quote from Chesterton. The Father is always old in maturity and always young in full joy. May we be and become more like Him in this.

  2. XB! I completely agree with brotherjuniper and Romanos and find something new or a new relevance of some phrase each time I read my prayers. Last year when I visited the St. Paisius Women’s Monastery in Safford, AZ, the abbess gave me some priceless advice for our children: she suggested that we have the kids go through and write the psalms down on paper- a few verses at a time- because as they write them on paper, they are really writing them in their hearts. I loved this and we immediately began doing it. They will write a few verses then we go over them together. It has been a great project. Soon, we will be starting Proverbs, which, of course, is phenomenally jam-packed with life lessons.

  3. Fr. Milovan,

    Thank you for this post and for reminding us of the simple joy of children. “Do it again” phrase made me smile because it brought memories on how my son also used to say this, after reading him a story when he was a little child. I would be so tired and sleepy but I oblidged to repeat at least 1 or 2 more times. I was aware that he wants that moment of togetherness to last forever aside from hearing the story; that is why I tried to cater to his delaying tactics. This childlike joy and enthusiasm should be my attitude when hearing the Word of God in our Church during Divine Liturgy through prayers, chanting, singing and listening to the Homily; to truly bask in the Divine Presence of our Lord, Jesus as children do in the company of their parents.

  4. As always, a good read – worth reading again! I have added a link to your site on Glory to God for All Things – something I should have done a while back but am typically slow. As you note – eventually we’re bound to get it right. Thank you for your writing and the rich insight you give. Christos Voskrese!

  5. Somehow I hot a wrong key by accident and my original, almost finished comment disappeared. If it somehow didn’t, please delete it and accept my apologies.

    What I wrote was that I agree wholeheartedly with what Brother Juniper said in his comment. His experience has been mine.

    I also was inspired by this post, and it gave me thoughts that I posted on my blog, along with a link to yours and an encouragement to others to come here and read it. This time I gave them no sneak previews, but I did borrow some of your photos from earlier posts, to show examples of true Orthodoxy in action.

  6. Whenever I pray my morning prayers, Father, I often find the same thing happening to me. The prayers are always the same and yet there is always something new. The same thing happens with the Psalms. Although we recite them over and over, they sink into our bones and become something else entirely.

    Thank you for this reminder and God bless.

  7. Thank you for this Father. I have often thought how Orthodox worship and liturgy are wonderfully suited to children. How many times have we parents been asked to read the same book over and over and over again. So much so that there are several children’s books I haven’t read in years but I can still quote completely.

Leave a comment