First obedience and then prayer

 

The following are thoughts of Elder Ephraim of Katounaki, a loose translation from an article in Serbian:

“…If you live in obedience, you will find the path to your salvation.  To give you an example. I was once sitting in my cell, occupying my time with noetic prayer, while my brother was doing something regarding seals for prosphora breads. I found myself in a state of grace (vision of the uncreated light). Grace can be in a person for a short period of time. Five minutes. One hour. It can also be for two, three hours. The monk from the next cell called me to lunch. I didn’t want to leave right away, until the grace leaves me. But because of such thoughts – disobedience, grace instantly left me and  I said to myself: “What have you done?” Because of disobedience I instantly lost grace. The holy fathers tell us that obedience must take the first place and then prayer. I had prayer but not obedience, and lost prayer as well. Being obedient, prayer can be preserved. Therefore, prayer proceeds from obedience. With obedience, prayer can be much more fervent. Thus, I received disobedience, I lost prayer – twice the damage.

I repeat: from obedience – prayer! The holy fathers say that one does not go to the monastery to pray, but to learn obedience.

Elder Ephraim of Katounaki

One thought on “First obedience and then prayer

Leave a Reply

