Men Who Play With Toys

Legendary science fiction and fantasy writer Ray Bradbury passed away late last night. I’m not much of a sci-fi fan myself though I remember reading Bradbury as a kid especially after being introduced to Fahrenheit 451 in English class. Funny thing, I was just thinking about him yesterday, the newest New Yorker has an article written by him.

Even though he spent a lifetime writing about the future he was more interested in living in the past. He didn’t drive or fly, which he claimed was a result of having witnessed a fatal traffic accident as a child.

I enjoyed this quote of his:

“I’m not afraid of machines,” he told Writer’s Digest in 1976. “I don’t think the robots are taking over. I think the men who play with toys have taken over. And if we don’t take the toys out of their hands, we’re fools.”

Rest in peace.

One thought on “Men Who Play With Toys

Leave a Reply

