Camp

Been away from the keyboard these past few days.

Last week I was one of the clergy assigned to the first week of our church camp in Shadeland, PA.  Then, on Saturday I went down to Atlanta (my former, and first, parish) to join them on Sunday for the celebration of their church Slava, Sts. Peter and Paul. I returned yesterday afternoon.

This afternoon I received a 20-part email with a bunch of camp pics. I guess I should note here that the photos are courtesy of Lana Balach, who comments here occasionally. She was one of the volunteer moms that week.  One of her favorite things about camp is when Fr. Rodney is there  she can attend his early morning Hours and Matins service which he serves at 5am when at home but he bumps it up to 6am while at camp. The photo above, in fact, was taken one early morning on the way to church.

Being the ego maniac that I am I went through the many photos and picked out the ones of me which I will now attach to this post:

6 thoughts on “Camp

  1. Dear Fr. Milovan,

    This is a wonderful website, I’m glad my dear friend Lana shared the url with me. It was so nice to meet you at Shadeland. I tried to be a kitchen helper during Week 1, and Maggie is my 8-yr old daughter who was a camper.

    Maggie wishes she could have stayed longer. Honestly I was ready to leave. 😉 However I will be in better shape and have more stamina for next summer! Now I fully understand what’s required. It felt like a week in Fr. R’s boot camp. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing Fr. Nikolai’s poem. Fr. R and I have discussed the theme “love your enemies,” and this is a great piece of literature to explain the difficult concept!

    mnogo vm hvala! Kate

  2. 🙂 It was a great week, Father Milovan. Thank you!

    Thank you also for sharing St. Bishop Nikolaj’s poem. I have read it before and appreciated it a lot!
    I printed it this time 🙂

  3. This was last Tuesday on the feast day of Ss. Peter and Paul. Bishop Mitrophan served the liturgy and we prepared a Slava kolach and koljivo (wheat) which is blessed and the kolach (bread) is broken. It wasn’t anyone’s slava so to speak, nor the church slava, but we did it just to have the kids participate in it and then be able to talk about it later.

Leave a Reply

