Serbian Patriarch in America

His Holiness Patriarch Irinej of Serbia has been in the States these past few days visiting the Chicago-Libertyville Metropolitanate of which he is administrator since the passing away of Metropolitan +Christopher last August. I haven’t been posting anything these past few days as I was in Chicago for a baptism and then I stayed for the liturgy the patriarch served at the Holy Resurrection Cathedral on Sunday.

My father in law took the photo below as we mingled with the hierarchs after liturgy.

4 thoughts on “Serbian Patriarch in America

  1. It must have been an inspiring heavenly feeling for you, Fr. Katanic, to have had the opportunity to be in the presence of His Holiness Patriarch Irinej of Serbia in Chicago.

    By the way, your father-in-law is a stellar photographer.

  2. I love that His Holiness was wearing my father’s vestments and mitre – yes, I know that they are the Diocese but these blue vestments were a gift to him, by his sister, my late Teta+Rose and the mitre was from a group of gentlemen from the South Side of Pittsburgh when he became bishop in 1978.

Leave a Reply

