Count your blessings

Unrelated photo: I had to go to the Amish this morning. Jovana poses unenthusiastically with the horsey.

Of the only three accounts found in the gospels of Jesus raising someone from the dead, the raising of the son of the widow of Nain differs from the rest in one small detail: no one ever asked Jesus to perform this miracle. Actually, I suppose this can be found in the other accounts but with the exception that in the incident in Nain Jesus was never approached by anyone at all: neither the widow nor anyone from the crowd. Instead, it was He who happened upon the funeral and felt so much compassion for the poor widow that, out of His great love, He gave her her son back.

In addition to this I would venture to say that the Lord’s very motive is worth noting. Unlike other cases from the gospel stories where the Lord is approached by the paralyzed, the blind, those living with infirmities years on end, it would seem that that the Lord had compassion on the widow for none of these seemingly serious problems. Rather, He felt sorry for her financial situation. Indeed, for a woman to live alone in the agricultural communities of the Middle East in New Testament times was catastrophic. This woman, who had lost her husband and now her only son and left with no one to do the farm work, was one to certainly pity.

I would conclude that God helps us not only with what we would deem to be those great, life threatening problems. Rather, He is there to solve all of our life’s worries. Subsequently, we go to Him with everything we do – from the smallest of life’s decisions to those more serious ones. But it is not  here that I  find the point of this gospel lesson, because, truth be told, in approaching our Heavenly Father in prayer it is more often that we have absolutely nothing to ask Him. For just as He solved the widow’s problem without her asking Him He is compassionate on us as well. Therefore, we have little to ask of Him who has already blessed us with so much.

The only thing we can we do on our own is to say Thank you.

5 thoughts on “Count your blessings

  1. OK…I am going to write about the unrelated photo and not be as deep as the rest of you. I love this photo Father, because it makes me feel great that Jovana gives the horse the same look as she gives me. I am not looking at you, I don’t see you so you can’t see me!!! Chocolate horse, chocolate!! It works wonders and gets you a kiss too.

  2. Amen, Fr Milovan, again and again, amen!

    This is what I have found out in my life as a Christian, that when I pray in my own words, almost all that I have to say is “Thank you, Lord.” Somehow, all of life’s trivial cares vanish away when I approach Him, because I know He will take me through them, all of them, and deliver me at last safely to my destination, Home with Him. As to intercession, yes, I pray for others’ needs, but always thanking Him for His gracious will, and saying, “Your will be done for…” and then, “What can I do? Show me…”

    Thank you, Lord, and thank you again, Fr Milovan, for the wonder of Your mercy.

Leave a Reply

