Extra! Extra!

Are newspapers a thing of the past or at least headed that way? There are certainly many who believe so. Last year’s $0.25 price hike was in response to many issues facing the newspaper business of which I’m sure is also the decline in  sales. I’m not certain whether I’d be allowed to defend them or how good my defense would even be considering the fact that I’m not a subscriber to any local newspaper and only once in a while will I buy a copy. But if it came to doing away with them altogether I think I’d miss seeing the front page at the grocery store, gas station, etc.

For those of you who agree I found a website which offers a jpeg image of the front page of most world newspapers. In a way the internet has not only not done away with newspapers (yet) but it’s allowing us to view the world’s top stories through the front pages of almost all of our world papers. See here:

Today’s Front Page

5 thoughts on “Extra! Extra!

  1. I think that printed newspapers will die out gradually, and in some other countries, may never die out at all.

    I was a paper boy in the 1960’s, and that’s part of my nostalgia. I still remember the experience so clearly, and how it gave vent to ordinary people’s generosity (in the form of big tips, sometimes twice as much as the weekly charge I was collecting).

    I also remember in old, inner city Chicago, running down to the corner store for my Mom and Dad to buy a newspaper. They were stacked up on a wooden box outside the shop door, and there was a slot in the box to put your payment in, all on the honor system. My earliest recollection was that the newspaper cost 3 cents. But for most of my sub-teen childhood it was 7 cents. If my Mom gave me a dime for the paper, she let me have the other 3 cents to buy a box of snaps (a kind of sugar coated licorice tube chunks, something like Good’n’Plenty, but all different colors, and hollow like little pipes).

    Though I don’t read the newspaper myself and haven’t had the experience that Mira describes, I know it well, from seeing my dad and grandpa and uncles do exactly what she describes with the Chicago Tribune. When the Sunday paper came in those days I was a youngster and early teen, and I’d grab the section that had stamp and coin ads, and hunt for some deals (I was a collector then and now).

    Pleasant memories, but yes, journalism has demonized some and exalted others, both unwarranted.

  2. It is good to see the demise of the newspapers. After all, they so viciously demonized us Serbs in the 90’s. Has everyone forgotten that already? With the internet, people can see the other side of the story and read various points of view without having some writer push his political agenda. Before, that was our only information source; hence, they directly controlled people’s opinions. Journalism sank to an all time low. Good bye, good luck, and good riddance!

  3. Call me old fashioned, but I like newspapers. Nothing can replace leisurely reading the NYT book reviews or op ed pages while drinking a nice cup of coffee. It’s one of life’s little pleasures.

  4. Many newspapers have have stopped being published because of the Internet. Since people can get the news free on the Internet, many feel there is no need for a newspaper.

    I would say that within five years, all newspapers — except for a few national newspapers (USA Today, New York Times, Washington Post) — will no longer be publishing daily print editions. Many may remain on the Internet.

    Also, some newspapers will reduce their daily publications to one or two days a week. For example, in my area of Massachusetts, the Waltham News Tribune last month — after publishing its Monday through Friday editions for more than 50 years — cut its publication to two days a week (Tuesday and Friday). This may well be a harbinger for other daily newspapers.

Leave a Reply

