Death and taxes…

“In this world nothing can be said to be certain,” said Benjamin Franklin once, “except death and taxes.” There is an interesting article in Vanity Fair about Greece’s economic insanity which amidst tax fraud on a grand scale is deeply concerned and troubled about the affairs of the flourishing Vatopaidi Monastery. I don’t know how accurate of a picture the article gives of the economic situation in Greece and I don’t think I fully understand what the monastery has done wrong. Maybe someone can enlighten me.

Read article here.

2 thoughts on “Death and taxes…

  1. I checked the link. It’s a very long article and I didn’t finish it yet. I got to the end of the account of the author’s visit to Mount Athos, and then left off there. I will finish reading it later when I am back home. I read this far during my lunch break at the office.

    I found the journalist’s description of life and worship in Vatopaidi somewhat interesting, even amusing if it weren’t for the tragedy of his complete ignorance of Christ, and so I actually posted that segment of the article at my blog.

    His description of the state of Greece’s consumerism and corruption is extravagant and, I hope, not as bad as he paints it. I mean, surely it’s not the whole population that is like this. Though some of his statements ring true as to the defects found in the Greek character, they are just that, defects, and not universals, and not reflections of the whole Hellenic culture and people. As much or more could be written about the virtues of the Greeks. But let’s face it, our humanity itself is what is defective through our misuse of free will and our pride. It has little to do with our nationality.

    The answer to our current economic and social crises is neither religion nor better statecraft, but new birth according to the Spirit of God, the answer is repentance, metanoia, a change of mind (and especially of heart), a turning from darkness to light. As for Mr Secular, as I have called this journalist, he needs to make the same choice as the rest of us, and when he does, he may hear the jingling of the censor bells not as sleigh bells, but as yet another voice calling him to the way, the truth and the life, calling him to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

