The Patron Saint of Business Owners

Taken from St. Nicholas OCA parish website in Florida:

svpetka
DO YOU OWN A BUSINESS? ARE YOU WORKING IN A BUSINESS? If you are looking to do better in business, to expand, or grow, consider ST. PARASKEVA. In Greek ‘Paraskeva’ means Friday. During the days of the Early Church, all business profits were counted up on Fridays. All meaningful business transactions were made on Fridays. Consequently, St. Paraskeva became the patron saint of business, business owners, workers, sales people, professionals.

9 thoughts on “The Patron Saint of Business Owners

  1. I hope to receive intercession from this saint I have been stagnant in my business though I have my skills it hasn’t reflected in my finance. dearest saint kindly pray for me.

  2. THANK YOU i HOPE MY BUSINESS IT WILL CONTINUE AND BECOME A SUCCESSFUL BUSINESS WITH THE BLESSING OF ST. PARASKIVA.I SEARCH THIS ST. BY SEARCHING IN THE INTERNET.I’M ALWAYS BELIEVE THE POWER AND THE BLESSING OF OUR ALMIGHTY GOD.

  3. I just get to know about this St Paraskeva. From today onwards i will start my business by praying to this saint and wants to get the diffrents in my business.

  4. I started my home business and now my brother is about to start his own,I we is a devoted Roman Catholic,I am glad to find a patron of Saints for quidance of the newly started home business.

  5. Why isn’t St. Paraskeva listed in the index of saints?
    I need any information on Saints of Businesses, helping businessmen and real estate.

  6. I have never heard of St. Paraskeva, but I’m glad to find out about her. My husband and I started a business recently. We are hoping it will allow me to stay home and homeschool our 4-year-old son (we both currently work full-time outside the home). I live in Fort Lauderdale. I will have to go to St. Nicholas to purchase an icon!

    Thank you for the post.

    Juliana

  7. They don’t specify but good question. Wikipedia mentions the following about St. Paraskeva of Iconia:

    A third-century martyr from Iconium, a favorite of Russians, who consider her the patron saint of traders and guardian of family happiness. Her feast day is October 28, nicknamed Paraskeva-“Pyatnitsa” (that means “Friday”).

  8. Which St. Paraskeve? of Rome? of Iconia? the New of Trnvo (in Iasi, Romania)?

    The hieromonk who chrismated me (another priest baptized me), serves at the relics of the latter in Romania? (He was just elevated to Archimandrite, in fact).

Leave a Reply

